googleplus
Immediate Appointments Available
Call Us Today!
(310) 854-7851

Testimonials


PATIENT 1

Re: My prostate removal- Robotic Surgery
October 15, 2007

Dear Dr. Bui,

I want to express my immense gratitude for giving me the option of a very unique and modern type of procedure; this revolutionary method has put behind my fears about surgery. Before I knew of it, I was afraid of the major risks such as long recovery time, intense pain and emotional trauma, especially at my age. Now that I look back, I am so glad I trusted your expertise and tried this new technology; to this date I still brag about it to my friends. It has only been 8 months since my surgery and I only have tiny scars to remind me of the serious nature of the surgery I went through. I cannot believe how quickly I have recovered; I am still amazed of how soon I returned to my normal life. My family and I are forever thankful to modern technology, to your professionalism and to your caring staff.

Sincerely,
WB


PATIENT 2

October 11, 2007

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.

Dear Dr. Bui,

I just received your letter asking about my experience with your Robotic Laparoscopic, Da Vinci surgery to remove my cancerous Prostate.

I can say, after many surgeries in my life, this was by far the easiest procedure I have ever gone through. I did a lot of research before making my decision and heard many stories from friends that had traditional open surgery. They not only had a huge scar but had a long recovery period including two-week catheter usage, three-month incontinence and longer period of incontinence. I can say that after about three weeks my life was back to normal as if nothing happened. My PSA is now 0.02 down from 9.75 pre-op. I am Cancer free.

As far as my care, I have only raves about Dr. Bui and the staff at Tower. Dr. Bui was sensitive and respectfully calmed all the natural fears that men have about this procedure. As a surgeon, I couldn’t have been in more competent hands.

I recommend Dr. Bui and Da Vinci surgery to any man facing Prostate Cancer.

Sincerely,
CG


PATIENT 3

Due to the early diagnosis of my prostate cancer by Dr. Danoff, I was given a clean bill of health after my prostate surgery (Robotic) by Dr. Bui on February, 2007.

I am impressed with Dr. Bui’s academic achievements and post graduate training in laparoscopic surgery.

I was able to walk the next morning after the surgery and be able to go out for lunch (dim sum) on the 5th day after the surgery.

I had minimum discomfort and no infection. In fact, I had no serious leaks after the surgery.

The only visible marks that can be detected as a result of the surgery are 3 small scars (1/4″, 3/8”, ½”).

My heartfelt thanks for Dr. Bui’s exceptional surgical skill and kindness.

Currently, I am not taking any medication for prostate cancer. Incidentally, I was born on 1938.

Sincerely,
MC


PATIENT 4

I had a radical robot laparoscopic prostatectomy in May of 2007. I was extremely fortunate on two accounts. First my prostate cancer was discovered early enough to be excised completely, requiring no follow-up radiation or chemotherapy (a testimony to the importance of annual physicals for men beyond the age of 45, since I’m only 53). The second reason that I was fortunate is that I was introduced to Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D. and the Tower Urology group. I found them by coming to the Cedars Sinai Medical Center because of its fine reputation and had tentatively selected Dr. Bui from a list of physicians who were practicing robotic surgery. He seemed to have the right combination of training and experience: young enough to be state-of-the-art but old enough to be steady and experienced. When the oncologist at Cedars also recommended Dr. Bui, I felt confident that I had the right physician. As high as my hopes and expectations were, Dr. Bui surpassed them all. He was obviously very knowledgeable and competent, but he was also very patient and compassionate. I liked him immediately and felt reassured that a man of his skill would be helping me navigate this difficult crisis in my life.

I had chosen robotic laparoscopic over the alternative treatments of beam radiation, seed implants and conventional prostatectomy because it offered the long-term safety of surgical removal of the cancer with the least surgical trauma and fast recovery. Dr. Bui confirmed my conclusion yet was honest about the potential benefits of other procedures. He helped me get ready for my procedure by explaining the process from beginning to end and carefully answering all my questions (and believe me, I asked a lot of them). He also included my wife in the interviews because it was going to involve her and he wanted her to be able to support me throughout the surgery and recovery. We both felt a great deal of peace with the way he enabled us to prepare.

Once I checked into the Cedars Sinai medical center, I was very impressed with the care that I received, especially from the nursing staff. They were great and treated me very well. The inevitable difficulties of the surgical procedure and its aftermath were mitigated and soothed by the staffs gentle but constant attention. They kept me in the hospital for two days following the surgery but it was not upset because of the care of the nursing staff relieved any concerns about my being able to care for myself.

Once I got home, the recovery went extremely well. I had minimal bladder control problems and pain was minor. I was off all pain medication in less than a week and I was doing some work in my home office about a week after the surgery. The minimal cuts that were made due to the robotic procedure allowed me to easily get out of bed and sit up, and within 3 weeks I was doing pretty much what I wished as far as walking and moving about. About this time I felt safe to drive as well. Six weeks later I was able to exercise fairly vigorously as long as I didn’t strain too hard. Three months later I felt completely recovered except for a small hernia that was in an area that had been troubling me even before the surgery. I’m back to full athletic activities. My sexual function has been a little bit of a problem but this is because they had to take half of the nerves on one side of the prostate due to the proximity of my cancer. With the medication that they prescribed I have been very pleased with the results. Their follow-up program was excellent and they offer biofeedback and other therapies to help me recover full bladder control and erectile function. All-in-all, I am very grateful for the treatment that I have received from Dr. Bui and the Tower Urology staff and would recommend their form of robotic laparoscopic surgery without reservation for anyone facing the difficult decision of choosing a prostate cancer treatment.

Sincerely,
Gary P.


PATIENT 5

I believe I am indebted to both Dr. Dudley Danoff and Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D. for the health prospects I have today. Dr. Danoff was exceedingly conscientious and thorough in his evaluation, He detected and quickly acted on my prostate cancer that had been overlooked by other practioners. Although I was unable to save my organ, as a result of Dr. Danoffs prompt and thorough diagnosis, I was able to act in time to prevent the spread of that cancer. Dr. Danoff was furthermore consummately professional in then alerting me the benefits of the advanced surgery, technology and skills that Dr. Bui could provide for my case, even though he was a very accomplished surgeon himself.

As a result of the robotic laparoscopic technology and the skills that Dr. Bui was able to employ for my surgery, I believe I had a markedly different experience from what would have been the case with even the best conventional open incision surgery. Although I would not want to misrepresent the dislocation and initial trauma involved in surgery of this magnitude, I had to feel quite fortunate as I met other men in the hospital and in other situations recovering from conventional prostatectomies.

In addition to having less bodily trauma with Dr. Bui’s laparoscopic surgery, I believe post surgery events were also less traumatic. I noted that internal drainage from my surgery was a small fraction of what I saw other patients having to deal with. I heard of conventional surgery involving subsequent removal certain packing materials, a painful event that I did not have to suffer. From reports of other patients, I had a fair amount of apprehension about the pain and dislocation that removing my catheter would entail. Dr. Bui’s procedure was significantly more careful and diligent than the experience others described. It was for me both reassuring and virtually painless.

I feel my basic recovery in general was significantly quicker and more assured than it would have been otherwise. I am relieved to be left with my abdominal musculature intact and uncompromised. The nerve-sparing surgical techniques that Dr. Bui was able to employ, along with the guidance and instruction of the physical therapist, has allowed me to regain my continence, which is a fundamental fear of most all men facing this operation. I am most hopeful that Dr. Bui’s skills in sparing damage to nerve structures will also eventually allow me to regain the balance of my male functions.

Sincerely,
JC


PATIENT 6

Perhaps by giving you an idea of the road I have traveled since my Prostate Cancer Surgery 3 months ago you can have a greater degree of confidence in the results you may achieve. At 67 years old this was my first major surgery and I had the usual fear and apprehension as to how much pain I would suffer and how difficult the recovery would be and to what extent my body would react differently after the operation and for the rest of my life. On all accounts the results have been positive.

The robotic surgery was almost completely without any pain during the recovery which started after only one night in the hospital. The second day after the surgery I was out taking short walks on my street and within a week was able to return to work. Although the catheter was not removed for two weeks I was still able to spend time at the office during this period.

Control of my bladder has improved over the first 3 months. In the beginning I used about 7 pads a day to stay dry, but by the end of the 3rd month after the operation one pad would last all day and a second pad was used for the nights. The pads seemed to be more of a security in the beginning and after 3 months they seem much less important and will probably be eliminated totally within the next 3 months.

Sexual stimulation was possible after the first month, but fear of lack of control of urinary activity inhibited sexual activity. Dr. Bui’s suggested the use of 20mg of Cialis from the first week after the operation and this seems to have been a great assistance in having feeling return to the penis as well as raising my confidence level that all my organs would work properly after the operation.

All my discussions with Dr. Bui about what to expect after the operation seem to match with my actual experience. Aside from the overcoming the fear of having an operation of this nature there were no surprises as to my recovery time or the affects that I experienced from the operation. The big surprise was that the pain level was so low and the recovery time was so short. It is one thing to be told these facts and another to actually experience a pain free operation.

The operation was a complete success from my perspective. Dr. Bui will continue to monitor my condition every 3 months. It goes without saying that for me a robotic surgery with Dr. Bui was the right decision.

Sincerely,
RU


PATIENT 7

When I was first diagnosed with prostate cancer, I did not feel good about it. The first opinion sounded catastrophic. When I met Dr.Nemoy and then Dr.Bui, things became pragmatic also clear. There was time and not only could my life be saved but could be saved. This happened in June, I knew I had cancer in March. The argument was to try the laparoscopic surgery, which seemed most convincing. I don’t remember hesitating and I’m glad I did not. Personally, I never suffered pain. After the surgery, I about a week or so, I came back to see the doctor to check the capacity of my bladder, how well I could empty it. I was told it would take at least a month to control my urine and I would need to use a dipper for a few days. I never needed them. Today, I’m able to urinate normally. I’m sixty years old and had difficulty urinating for at least ten years. When my doctor asked me to write a testimonial, I did not hesitate. I highly recommend this method. It worked one hundred percent for me.

Thank you,
AZ


PATIENT 8

I can’t thank you enough for helping me eliminate prostate cancer. You were generous with your time, listening and explaining up front all in a timely manner. Your skill at the procedure, Da Vinci robotic prostatectomy was obvious in the surgery. My recovery and the return to full functionality, not to mention the complete removal of prostate cancer. The minimally invasive procedure allowed me to be off pain medication in two days and to recover normal function quickly. A friend I recommended to you experienced the same wonderful care four months later. We both were also quite impressed with Cedars Sinai Hospital. Thank you, also, for the thorough follow up visits.

With admiration and great appreciation,
TR


PATIENT 9

Dr.Bui was great. Surgery was easy recovery went well and fast. Life is good.

Sincerely,
BF


PATIENT 10

I chose Robotic surgery for its promise of a quicker recovery. I had surgery on January and came January 13 and was back in full time medical practice by February 1. At no time did I have excess discomfort and I am glad of my choice.

Sincerely,
RL, M.D.


PATIENT 11

My surgery was wonderful, and the care I received was attentive indeed.

Sincerely,
DH


PATIENT 12

The robotic procedure was a wonderful experience. The procedure went with out complication and my recovery was very fast. I have recommended other patients who have also been operated on by Dr.Bui successfully and I continue to recommend Dr. Bui.

Sincerely,
SM


PATIENT 13

A lot of genuine thanks for your substantial contribution to my successful robotic procedure. You are indeed a gifted surgeon, and I’m not surprised Tower Urology sought you out! I felt totally secure in your care and appreciate greatly the patience and time you spent with Mark and Me explaining what was ahead and answering our many questions.

I shall sing your praises to Dr. Tom Bui in Medford. I’m still convinced you two are connected if not genetically on a medical/spiritual plane (although I feel quite confident Tom hasn’t set foot in Lancaster, PA!) Needless to say, our shared Pennsylvania histories were a happy plus to meeting you.

Again, my deep appreciation for helping me though this medical journey. Continued success at Tower Urology, and wish you and your family the best always.

Sincerely,
BM


PATIENT 14

On the afternoon of 28 December 2006 I underwent a radical prostatectomy. The surgery was performed by Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D. using a robotic machine. The surgery went as advertised; with the minimally invasive procedure leaving only very small scars, and the catheter was removed after one week. I was able to get up and take a very short walk the day after surgery. Recovery was normal, and except for the regular limitations of septuagenerian, I am able to lead an active life. Dr. Bui has been exemplary in his treatment; giving complete explanations concerning the options that were available, the severity of the cancer, and the follow up after surgery.

I would highly recommend the robotic surgery to anyone facing the necessity of radical prostatectomy.

Sincerely yours,
AB


PATIENT 15

PROSTATE SURGERY… A PATIENT’S VIEW

INTRODUCTION

My name is H.S. I was 65 years young when I have my prostate removed. I had been tracking my PSA tests for 10 years as they fluctuated from 3.2 to 4.2. 1 had a biopsy ten years ago and it was negative. Then a few months ago, it went up to 6.0. 1 had a biopsy; my Gleason score was 6 and while I could have taken a more wait and see position, I made the decision I wanted it out and gone from my life.

I had spent ten years worrying about it. I spent ten years wondering each time I got up at night to go to the bathroom if it was a strong stream, if this meant my prostate was enlarged; and on and on. So for me, the logic was simple. While I had a low Gleason, it was not going to go away on its own accord. The odds were that it was in its very early stages and still very localized in my prostate, and the words of my former internist rang in my ears. At one of my annual checkups he made the passing comment that prostate cancer was not a good way to die! Many years earlier my father made me visit a family friend who was dying of prostate cancer. While forty years have passed, I can still see him lying in his bed, gaunt with his bright blue eyes looking at me while he squeezed my hand. The decision for me was and easy one.

Also, in the two years previous to this, I had six other close friends being diagnosed with prostate cancer. Two chose to do the seeds; the others the traditional open surgery. All had very different experiences; all were living and enjoying life. BUT… and this is not a pitch for the robotic procedure, but… this is what I chose to go with and for me, it was as good an experience as you can have… Trust me, I would have much rather spent a couple of weeks in Hawaii, but that wasn’t one of the options!

So from my experience there are a few things that I think you need to keep in mind.

First, my experience won’t be yours. Neither will anyone else’s.

Second, one of the interesting aspects of this process is that you should absolutely talk to more than one physician and more specifically you should talk to different physicians who advocate different approaches. One of the surgeon’s I met with, who advocated the traditional open made the comment that more than the process, the critical factor was the skill of the physician.

And I agree with that to an extent. I still feel there are differences inherent to the processes.

I am not a doctor so I cannot give medical advice. And the fact is that there are circumstances and variables that impact your options. E.g. your age, Gleason score, size of prostate; other health variables. So there is not one correct answer; you are going to go thru the process, hopefully with your wife or someone else with you, collecting information, and then you are going to make a decision… and that decision will be the best one for you. I say with your wife or someone with you, because you will benefit from having another set of ears listening. You should not be hesitant about asking questions like how many of these have you done; what have your results been, etc. Trust me the doctors you talk to will gladly share with you this information and how good they are. Also be prepared for them to ask you questions about your sex life… this is an element of this operation .i.e. the ability to have erections post surgery.

That said, this book is written about my experience and my experience is based on the procedure I chose. So you have to take this as an overview of what you may face and adopt it to your situation. Also, I have written this in very frank and candid terms… things men don’t normally talk openly about, like how you clean yourself after having a bm… when you have a catheter in! Well for that matter, having a good bm and the dynamics of the process…

So I hope this will be of value to you. I decided to try to write this thing while recuperating. There are lots of books available about prostate cancer, but nothing that approaches the subject from the patient’s perspective… Particularly after the surgery.

Thank you and good luck,
HS


PATIENT 16

December 14, 2008

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.
Tower Urology
Cedars Sinai Medical Office Towers
8635 West Third, Suite 1 West
Los Angeles, CA 90048

Dear Dr. Bui,

I want to express to you my gratitude for the care that you provided me during a time in my life that was a period of much reflection and concern. Personally, I have never had to deal with a major medical issue that could have a significant impact on my quality of life as well as my longevity.

Only two months ago, I was diagnosed with prostate cancer while under the care of another urologist. I am so grateful that my next door neighbor recommended that I obtain a second opinion and he recommended Dr. Cinman at Tower Urology.

At the first appointment with Dr. Cinman, he believed that I was an ideal candidate for the Da Vinci Prostatectomy surgery instead of the traditional open surgery. Well here I am only 12 days after my surgery, sitting at my computer writing this letter of appreciation and gratitude. From the very first appointment and consultation with you, I knew immediately that I wanted to be under your care. The passion and enthusiasm that you demonstrated for your work, your professionalism, and the attention that you paid to both me and my family made me realize that robotic surgery under your care was the way to go. You prepared me well as to what to expect; both in terms of the surgery and how to manage my care preoperative and post operative. The staff at Tower Urology was wonderful and reassuring as some of the procedures can make an individual feel somewhat awkward; they made me feel very comfortable and confident in their skills.

As you have done with other patients, feel free to use this communication as another testimonial regarding the quality that a prospective patient can expect from you and your staff at Tower Urology.

Kindest regards,
CR


PATIENT 17

Dear Dr. Bui,

I seldom write a fan letter when it comes to things medical, but my recent interaction with you and your DaVinci was one of the high points in an otherwise sad and unfortunate condition.

Your ease of manner, and the confidence you exude made it so easy, and the way you and Dr. Holden kept Karen, my wife, informed during the operation, is greatly appreciated.

I don’t know yet if you know how successful the surgery was. I have a two weeks supply of Depends just sitting in the box. I m back in the gym, and I don’t seem to have any residual effects. Amazing…from what I heard I was in for a couple of uncomfortable weeks. Not true.

I am writing a story about the experience and would have to ask you a few more questions about your remarkable journey from Vietnam to Yale, and beyond. Could I take you to lunch and find out more.

Thanks again, and God Bless your skill and your compassionate care.

Happy New Year.

Warmest Regards,
RH


PATIENT 18

January 29, 2009

Dear Dr. Bui,

How can Thank You ever be enough for saving a life, especially saving the life of someone you love so dearly? It can’t… there is no way those simple words can convey what you have done for J and me. However; we do thank you… both of us with the deepest sincerity and it is certainly heartfelt. If we were people of means we would most certainly send a large donation to further your work; we are not, but we can and will recommend you to any and all, including the medical personnel we see here; and speak loudly and positively, not only about Da Vinci, but your expertise and how well things went for J, before, during and after his surgery and association with you as his doctor.

I know we did not jump up and down for joy in your office yesterday, I think we are both still in shock so to speak, of all that has transpired in jut a couple of months. There is no doubt J made the right decision, and I agreed with that decision, for him to have the surgery. The fact that the biopsy showed it was already changing in such a short time was confirmation enough for us that J is very lucky indeed to have found you when he did.

I know it is probably warm and windy where you are today, it is cold and windy here, very windy. J is out on his walk, which I usually take with him. This morning he took the dogs. One thing you should know about J is that he is dedicated and if you ask something of him and he says he will do it, he will do it. I will have to sit on him just a bit as he is talking already abut sit-ups and when he can start working the horses with me…….not!……Not yet anyway.

I am so pleased that the knee surgery I had in August has healed enough for me to pick up the slack while he is mending. I don’t mind, but have not been able to do my share for awhile. So, I feel very lucky to be able to do what needs to be done, even though we only have two horses at the moment. There is feeding and watering twice a day, brushing, and of course the cleaning. Our horses are in an acre and a half pasture they have free run of; and we clean it every day. So I am getting my walk also!

Our friend that you met yesterday, DE, is a two time cancer survivor, Lymphoma and Testicular. He has been such wonderful moral support for J as he can relate to what he has gone though, and a general support for both of us as he kindly drove to ease the stress on my knee, and though I hate to admit it, I have NO sense of direction; so he got us safely and timely to the hospital and to your office for J’s needs.

We are blessed in our friends and our Drs., you certainly among those.

Thank you again for your dedication and skill; and your kindness; and your honest information.

We sill see you in three months!

With kindest regards and sincerely,
S & J W


PATIENT 19

18 February 2010

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.
Tower Urology
8635 W. 3 rd
Street, Suite 1 West
Los Angeles, CA 90048

Dear Dr. Bui:

As you may already know, I just got my latest PSA test back from the lab and had a score of 0.0. This is great news, or course, and I am relieved and grateful.

I’ve read many horror stories on the internet regarding prostatectomy surgery and the arduous recovery and rehab. Converesly, my recovery has gone much much better than anything I’ve seen on any blog. Even though I know I am relatively young (50) and the cancer was detected extremely early, your skill and care are obviously the reason I’ve had such an easy road.

I was back at my desk (I work on a computer in my home office) two hours after returning from the hospital. I followed my post-op instructions carefully, doing my Kegel exercises after enduring the discomfort of the catheter and corresponding apparatuses.

Once the catheter was removed after seven days, I’ve experienced no incontinence at all (save for tiny leakage when sneezing or passing gas), incontinence was my number one concern. I’ve also had excellent success with regaining potency (my number two concern), achieving 90% erections 2-3 weeks after surgery. I still use daily low dose Cialis for support, and I’m confident that after a few more months I’ll be good as new.

While at Cedars recovering, I was impressed with the respect that the nursing staff has for you and your work. I knew I was in good hands from the beginning, but only now do I realize how incredibly lucky I am to have bee under your expert care.

Thank you for saving my life, and ensuring that life would be one of excellent quality.

Sincerely,
BB


PATIENT 20

August 3, 2010

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.
Stuart Holden, M.D.
Tower Urology
8635 W. 3Rd Street
Los Angeles, Ca 90048

Dear Dr. Bui and Dr. Holden:

On behalf of myself and my family, I would like to formally convey my sincere thanks and appreciation to both of you for the recent skillful and successful Da Vinci robotic surgery to remove my cancer ridden prostate.

After 15 years of negative PSA tests, my PSA shot up to four times the normal limits in just one year. I was diagnosed through biopsy with extensive and aggressive prostate cancer (over 50% of my prostate had cancer with Gleason scores of 7). Following encouraging negative CT and bone scans, Dr Bui, assisted by Dr. Holden, performed a Da Vinci robotic surgery to remove my prostate.

I was informed that the surgery went perfectly, and that all my sexual function nerves had been spared. Post operative pathology and blood tests confirmed that all the cancer cells were localized in the prostate, and had been removed. I was one of the fortunate patients who had surgery in time to apparently save my life.

I was able to leave the hospital the day after surgery and never had to use the prescribed pain medication. I was able to return to my law practice part time four days post operative, had my catheter removed on the sixth day post op and returned to full time work on the seventh day.

I had no urinary leakage or other problems after the catheter was removed, and full sexual function returned less than three weeks after the surgery.

Tower Urology has a well earned reputation as the best center in the country for treatment of prostate cancer, not only because of the medical skills of its physicians, but also because of the quality and depth of their pre and post operative support services and counseling to aid patients in preparing for and recovering from all aspects of their procedures, including diet, urinary control, exercise and sexual functions.

While experiencing cancer and cancer surgery is an emotional experience with many uncertainties, patients of Tower Urology can at least have the peace of mind that they have given themselves the best medical chance available for survival and future quality of life.

Please accept the heartfelt and sincere gratitude of both myself and my entire family for the life saving medical care you both provided, which has given me the opportunity to live a quality life long into the future.

Very Truly Yours,
C.D.


PATIENT 21

August 7, 2010

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.
Tower Urology
8635 West 3 St., Suite 1 West
Los Angeles, CA 90048

Dear Dr. Bui:

I want to express my thanks and appreciation to you and the staff at Tower Urology. Prostate cancer runs in my family so I had had PSA tests taken, but with a false air of confidence, not regularly enough. I came to your office in January 2010 with a PSA result of 9.75 with many questions and concerns. 8 months later I am happy to say my score is less than 0.1.

My initial test was taken at my general practitioners office. After getting a reading on these results, I was told that I needed to see a specialist. Fear, doubt and worry occupied many of my thoughts. The last serious health issue I had was tonsils when I was 15 and now it is 46 years later.

During the consultation appointment with you, my wife and I were armed with a multitude of questions. You answered many of them before we had a chance to ask. We appreciated the time you took to explain our options. We appreciated the time you took to calm our fears. When we walked out of your office, we had complete confidence in your recommendation of the robotic surgery and your skill as a surgeon.

While the condition of prostate cancer is scary, the experience of the past 8 months has been great. All of the professionals at Tower Urology are exceptional. Every step of the way, every visit, I was treated in a very professional manner. All of my questions were answered and procedures were fully explained. Every step of the treatment process had a result and goal. At the conclusion I was able to resume all of my normal activities in a very short time.

I was very fortunate that a friend recommended you to us.

Sincerely,
R.G.


PATIENT 22

I was 48 years old when I was diagnosed with prostate cancer. On July 2008, I had a Gleason score of 8. Two months after meeting with three surgeons, who used the Da Vinci Robotic System, I chose Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D. as my surgeon. One of the reasons I chose Dr. Bui was his calm demeanor and the ease in which he answered all my questions. We scheduled surgery for September 2008.

The day after surgery I was up and walking. One week later, Dr. Bui removed the catheter tube. After the first two weeks I had very little bladder leakage; only drops. Twelve weeks post surgery I was able to play golf. At four months I was able to helicopter ski for one week in Canada.

I started Cialis right after surgery. I was worried after surgery that there may be some difficulty in the erection department. After four months I went from everyday usage to occasional usage of Cialis. After six months it was completely unnecessary. At six months besides the six one-inch scars on my abdomen, my surgery was almost a non-event.

Two years later, with a PSA score .02 or less, Dr. Bui continues to monitor my progress. Dr. Bui and his staff have insured that my health is still the utmost of importance.

I would like to thank Dr. Matthew Bui M.D., Ph.D., his staff, and Tower Urology for the exceptional care that has been given to me.

D.S.


PATIENT 23

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer one year ago. I had no advance symptoms or family history. Plus, I was considered young to get this disease.

The team at Tower Urology and I worked together in planning the best treatment for me. It was the most important decision I ever made.

We caught it very early and the surgery was 100% successful. My life has returned to normal and is richer than ever!

S.M.


PATIENT 24

Monday, October 31,2011

Early in 2011, I underwent a Da Vinci, robotic-assisted laparoscopic prostatectomy performed by Dr. Matthew Bui M.D., Ph.D. at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles and hope my story will inspire and help others to decide upon their prostate cancer treatment.

I am 56 years old and the Urologist who discovered my cancer via a biopsy leaned towards watchful waiting but also advised me to seek other opinions. The next Urologist was also a surgeon and during our consultation I learned a lot about all the options such as radiation and surgery. However, I still did not know what to do.

I needed another opinion and Dr. Bui was recommended by another Doctor as being one of the best in his field. My wife went with me to this consultation and was also present at the other two Urologist consultations. It’s important to have another set of ears to help you evaluate everything correctly. We found Dr. Bui to be very personable and reassuring. He was honest and knowledgeable about all my treatment options. He explained each one equally in a thorough but clear manner and then gave his medical opinion. It was clear to my wife and I that a prostatectomy was for me. It offered the long term safety of surgical removal of the cancer.

Trusting his judgment proved to be crucial, for the pathology on my removed prostate showed the cancer to be far more extensive than the biopsy had indicated. His insight to look beyond all the “numbers” saved my life.

The surgery date was set at that consultation for I knew he was the one to get me through this difficult situation. From the consultations with these three specialists I was certain the Da Vinci was the way to go if surgery was elected. Dr. Bui has exemplary qualifications and training in laparoscopic and robotic surgery. He is young enough to be an expert in this “cutting edge” technology, but old enough to be experienced.

A few weeks before surgery, Dr. Bui authorized bone and CT scans to ensure the cancer had not spread to the bone or soft tissues and was always available if I had any questions or concerns.

Just four months after being diagnosed, I checked into Cedars-Sinai Medical Center for the operation. My wife said Dr. Bui updated her periodically during surgery, which she truly appreciated and he was very pleased with how everything went. Just six hours after waking up, I got out of bed and walked quite a distance, it wasn’t easy, but I did it.

Early next morning Dr. Bui came to see me as I was walking around my room, he checked me over and everything looked good. He informed me he would remove the catheter a week later and I have to admit, I was apprehensive about that part. From the moment I checked into Cedars, I was reassured by the attention I was given and the highly skilled surgical team who were to play an important role in my successful outcome. Dr. Cinman his assistant and Dr. Chih-Jen-Lee the anesthesiologist whose expertise allowed me to wake up from surgery without vomiting, for the first time ever.

Upon discharge, I reflected upon how fortunate I was to have been in a top-notch hospital with access to so much state-of-the-art equipment. I got home and took a shower with no hesitation because the scars were just small slits and only required small round band-aids to protect them.

A week later I went to see Dr. Bui to have the catheter removed and yes, I was still nervous about that. However, his diligent procedure verified everything had healed properly inside before it was painlessly removed. I wore pampers to absorb any urine leakage but only needed them for about a week.

My recovery was fast with minor pain and just a few weeks after surgery the scars were hardly visible. Although still major surgery, this minimally invasive procedure ensured that I did not suffer the bodily trauma and long arduous recovery time often associated with the old fashioned open method.

Selecting a highly skilled surgeon is vital in mitigating the potential side effects. This is an intricate procedure with no room for even the slightest mishap and this is where the Da Vinci Robot excels. It does not perform the operation, but mirrors the surgeon’s movements and is more precise and steadier than any human hands could ever be. The surgeon is comfortably seated and the operating area is clearly magnified on a screen via a 3-D camera on one of the robots slender probes. I attribute my excellent results to this combination of Dr. Bui and the Da Vinci Surgical System.

Denial is a side effect of this cancer, for we don’t want to think about the possible side effects of removal. I’m so glad I had it done and don’t have to worry about the dire consequences if I “wait” and it escapes from the prostate capsule. Plus I don’t have to endure an annual biopsy.

A recent checkup, including ultrasounds, showed everything has healed correctly and I never had any complications. Sometimes I do take 5mg of Cialis to function fully in that department which needs more time to heal completely.

Don’t be swayed by the many studies and glossy websites that question the efficacy of screening for this cancer or even acting upon it once it is diagnosed. Although it is the second-leading cause of cancer death in America, it is more easily treated when caught early and action is taken.

My heartfelt thanks go to all the staff that cared for me at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center and Tower Urology. I am eternally grateful to Dr. Matthew Bui M.D., Ph.D. for all he has done for me. He truly is the consummate professional and my results prove I could not have been in more competent hands.

P.D.


PATIENT 25

December 28, 2011

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.
PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL
Cedars-Sinai Office Towers
8635 West 3rd Street
Suite 1 West
Los Angeles, CA 90048

Dear Dr. Bui,

Thank you so much for treating my prostate cancer. I did extensive research of both physicians and treatment options for my cancer and I am extremely happy that I chose you.

My wife and I were both very grateful for the time you spent explaining my options and for your continued follow up after my surgery. I was released from the hospital within 24 hours and back in the office within a few weeks. I have had ZERO issues with incontinence. Your “nerve sparing” surgery does work.

I truly feel that the time I spent researching my options, interviewing physicians and talking to your other patients was of great value.

Thank you again for taking me as a patient and for all you have done for me and others.

God bless and much continued happiness and success.

MT

Happy New Year


PATIENT 26

October 8, 2012

Mr. Thomas M. Priselac
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
8700 Beverly Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA. 90048

Dear Mr. Priselac,

Just last week I underwent prostate surgery at your hospital which was performed by Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D., under the direction of Doctor Stuart Holden. I have nothing but the highest regard for both of these professionals but this letter is in reference to the nursing staff on the 8″ floor where I recuperated.

After a short stay in your hospital I feel compelled to send you this letter to express my gratitude for the outstanding care that was provided by the nursing staff at Cedars-Sinai. Their professionalism, caring attitude and overall level of services were exemplary. I know that there were several individuals who administered to my needs and I am sure that I do not remember all of their names but 1 would like to mention that nurses Tracy, Annie, and Alexis went above and beyond with the care that they provided. Also, I greatly appreciated meeting a charge nurse by the name of Betty who took the time to ensure that I was comfortable and thoroughly answered any questions that I had. Additionally, I would be remiss not to acknowledge a clinical practitioner by the name of Bernadette who was kind and inspiring to say the least. There was also a nurse who also provided excellent care when I arrived on the 8″ floor but since I was just coming out of the anesthesia I do not recall her name. Based on their kind, compassionate and caring demeanors I felt as though I was being attended to by qualified family members verses individuals whom I had just meet.

Please extend my sincere appreciation to all who were involved in my care.

Best regards,
TJK


PATIENT 27

September 24, 2013

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.
Tower Urology
Cedars Sinai Medical Office Tower
8635 West Third Street, Suite 1 West
Los Angeles. CA 90048

Dear Dr. Bui:

My wife and I want to express our sincere gratitude for the exceptional care provided by you and the staff at Tower Urology both before and after my prostatectomy procedure. We knew we were in skilled hands after our first meeting when we discussed my options for treatment of prostate cancer. Your careful explanation of the various treatment options and outcomes, extensive surgical experience with the Da Vinci Robotic System. and your calm and reassuring manner made our decision to proceed with the surgery much easier.

Prior to my surgery, the biopsy procedure went without any complications, and two hours after my prostatectomy I was up and walking the corridors of the hospital. I went home the day after the surgery and was virtually pain free, never needing to take any pain medication. One week after surgery my catheter was removed without any discomfort and I was able to return to work and resume my regular schedule.

I never experienced any bladder leakage after the operation and after two months I was able to resume sexual activities, which is a testament to your skill as a surgeon and physician. After four months and the regularly scheduled follow-up visits, I felt that I had fully recovered and was able to enjoy all my pre-surgery activities.

The follow-up visits with you and the Tower Urology staff have further reinforced my feelings that I made the right choice, and my wife and I feel very fortunate that I was able to receive the best medical care possible.

Thank you again for giving us peace of mind before and after the surgery, and for making it possible for us to continue the lifestyle we enjoy.

Sincerely,
N.D.


PATIENT 28

September 26, 2013

Dr. Matthew Bui, M.D., Ph.D.
Tower Urology
8635 W 3rd St
Suite IWEST
Los Angeles CA 90048

Dr. Bui,

It has been nearly a year since you performed my prostate surgery and I wanted to send you a short note expressing my sincere appreciation and gratitude for an excellent surgical procedure and exceptional aftercare.

It was only a few short months after the surgery and I resumed all of my normal activities including golf, exercising, traveling and regained all normal physical functions. In my opinion this was truly remarkable when I consider the results that occurred to several friends and family members who had the same procedure at other well-known and reputable medical institutions.

Your professionalism, caring attitude and overall level of services have been exemplary. Based on your kind, compassionate and caring demeanor I felt as though I was being attended to by qualified family member verses an individual whom I had just met due to my unfortunate circumstances.

Again, thank you for everything

Best regards,
TJK